In collaboration with YTL Foundation, FrogAsia hosted the first Awards Night for schools, teachers, and students on 28 November at the JW Marriott, Kuala Lumpur. In honour of various achievements this year, all winners of 2018 were invited to a spectacular evening of fine dining and entertainment.

What a tremendous year it has been! We started the year with one goal in mind: to encourage and inspire the community to raise the bar in education through 21st Century teaching and learning. And throughout the year, we have seen schools, teachers, students and even parents levelling up through the YTL Foundation Schools Awards, 1BestariNet Teacher Awards and the Frog Championships.

We wanted to acknowledge and appreciate all the positive and impactful efforts that the community has put in to up their game and bringing education to greater heights. Thus, in collaboration with YTL Foundation, FrogAsia hosted the first Awards Night on 28 November at the JW Marriott, Kuala Lumpur. We invited all our winners of 2018 for a spectacular evening of fine dining and entertainment, in honour of their tremendous achievements this year.

The event was graced by our guest of honour Yang Amat Mulia Tunku Besar Seri Menanti Tunku Ali Redhauddin Tuanku Muhriz, who is also the Chairperson and Founding Trustee of Teach For Malaysia. Also in attendance were Trustees of YTL Foundation, MInistry of Education officials, as well as Malaysia’s first astronaut, Dato’ Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor. Adibah Noor, local singer and actress, gave a surprise appearance and performed throughout the night.

Five schools emerged as winners of the YTL Foundation Awards – SK Ampangan from Negeri Sembilan, SK Seri Bayu from Perak, SMK Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi from Selangor, SMK Tengku Mahmud 2 from Terengganu and SMK (P) Pudu from Kuala Lumpur. Each school received a cash prize of RM20,000 each.

Three teachers received the 1BestariNet Teachers Awards – Puan Norsiah Abd Rahman, the Headmistress of SMK Air Molek, Melaka, Mr Yu Kok Hui, the ICT and Frog Admin of SMK Skudai, Johor and Encik Mohd Nasrul Safwan bin Zaukafali, a Science teacher from SK Sungai Pinang, Kelantan.

Three schools that won in the FrogPlay World Championships 2018 received their trophies – Grand Prize Winner SJK(C) Choong Cheng, runner-up SK Taman Bukit Indah and second runner-up Yardley School who came all the way from London. The World Champions received US $3,000, US $2,000 and US $1,000 respectively.

The night ended with awards given to the Best Dressed Lady and Gentleman of the night! We want to thank and congratulate all our winners for making the event a night to remember!

Watch highlights from the enchanting and memorable evening here:

No older Stories
No newer Stories